Arsip untuk Mei 30th, 2008

Andai…

[Spoiler alert buat anak-anak IF, mohon jangan dibaca ketika anda sedang makan. sedang belajar, sedang ujian, atau sedang tidur]

I would like to close by clearing up a few misconceptions and also correcting a couple of errors. First, I REALLY am not angry with Linus. HONEST. He’s not angry with me either. I am not some kind of “sore loser” who feels he has been eclipsed by Linus. MINIX was only a kind of fun hobby for me. I am a professor. I teach and do research and write books and go to conferences and do things professors do. I like my job and my students and my university. […] I wrote MINIX because I wanted my students to have hands-on experience playing with an operating system. After AT&T forbade teaching from John Lions’ book, I decided to write a UNIX-like system for my students to play with. […] I was not trying to replace GNU/HURD or Berkeley UNIX. Heaven knows, I have said this enough times. I just wanted to show my students and other students how you could write a UNIX-like system using modern technology. A lot of other people wanted a free production UNIX with lots of bells and whistles and wanted to convert MINIX into that. I was dragged along in the maelstrom for a while, but when Linux came along, I was actually relieved that I could go back to professoring. […] Linus seems to be doing excellent work and I wish him much success in the future.

While writing MINIX was fun, I don’t really regard it as the most important thing I have ever done. It was more of a distraction than anything else. The most important thing I have done is produce a number of incredibly good students, especially Ph.D. students. See my home page for the list. They have done great things. I am as proud as a mother hen. To the extent that Linus can be counted as my student, I’m proud of him, too. Professors like it when their students go on to greater glory.

Sebuah kutipan dari artikel di wikipedia. dari siapa hayoo?? jawabnya adalah Andrew S Tanenbaum. Orang yang kita kambing hitamkan menjelang Ujian Akhir Operating System. Bukunya yang berjudul Operating Systems: Design and Implementation yang menjadi korban pemerkosaan di Dunia Baru, Tamansari, Bandung, adalah buku yang kita (tepatnya ‘saya’) hiasi dengan airliur semalam menjelang ujian kuliah OS.

namun….. setelah baca artikel tentang beliau (saya beneran kaget beliaunya masih hidup!! astaghfirullah, hidup, eh, tinggal di Amsterdam lagi!!! astaghfirullah lagi) saya baru tahu dia adalah inspirator utama Linus Torvald untuk mengarang sistem operasi yang sekarang terkenal dan mendunia , LINUX(Linus ini saya duga sudah tua botak, ternyata, masih muda….). Tanenbaum menulis sebuah operating system bernama MINIX hanya untuk menanjukkan bagaimana bekerjanya sistem yang dia jabarin ngalor ngidul di bukunya. dia nulis OS untuk ngajar aja!!!!! biar muridnya bisa lebih paham apa yang dia ajarkan!!!

Aku jadi pengen baca bukunya Tanenbaum lagi, aku jadi pengen punya sebuah sistem MINIX, pengen baca kodenya dan ngerti…. (Mode boong : on)

Andai….

PS : komentar itu muncul setelah perdebatan Tanenbaum dengan Linus mengenai sistem Mikrokernel atau Monolithic, seperti diketahu, Linus terinspirasi dengan sistem Minix yang ditulis oleh Tanenbaum untuk kemudian menulis sistem miliknya sendiri, Linux. Linux menggunakan sistem monolithic sementara Minix menggunakan sistem microkernel. seseorang bernama Kenneth Brown yang terkenal dengan bukunya Samizdat pada tahun 2004, menuduh Linus mengkopi kode Minix di dalam Linux. Mengesampingkan perdebatannya dengan Linus, Tanenbaum malah membuat sebuah pembelaan yang mengemuka berupa komentar di atas.